Friday, February 4, 2022

Book Review: Blood Will Tell by Heather Chavez















Title: Blood Will Tell
Author: Heather Chavez
Release Date: April 26, 2022
Publisher: William Morrow
Genre: Thriller
Format: Ebook/Hardcover/Paperback/Audio
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher

Purchasing:




From the author of the acclaimed debut No Bad Deed, a twisty novel about the bond between two sisters—and the crimes one covers up to protect the other. For fans of Lisa Gardner and Harlan Coben.

Schoolteacher and single mom Frankie Barrera has always been fiercely protective of her younger sister Izzy—whether Izzy wants her to be or not. But over the years, Izzy’s risky choices have tested Frankie’s loyalty. Never so much as on a night five years ago, when a frantic phone call led Frankie to the scene of a car accident—and a drunk and disoriented Izzy who couldn’t remember a thing.

Though six friends partied on the outskirts of town that night, one girl was never seen again . . . 

Now, an AMBER alert puts Frankie in the sights of the local police. Her truck has been described as the one used in the abduction of a girl from a neighboring town. And the only other person with access to Frankie’s truck is Izzy.

This time around, Frankie will have to decide what lengths she’s willing to go to in order to protect Izzy—what lies she’s willing to tell, and what secrets she’s willing to keep—because the dangerous game that six friends once played on a warm summer night isn’t over yet . . .



This book was a real whirlwind! I have a sister and am the oldest...and I was able to somewhat relate because my sister got herself into some binds when she was younger.  Even if she didn't know it, I was always looking out for her but most of the time she didn't want my help. Frankie has the same thing with Izzy. 

Izzy got herself in some trouble with a group of 'friends' years ago and one of them ends up missing. Frankie helps Izzy but isn't sure exactly what happened because Izzy was so out of it when she called for help, Frankie just jumped in and did what she could. 

But, when Frankie gets stopped by the police saying her vehicle has been identified in an AMBER alert, and Frankie's son says he remembers her truck being missing that night, Frankie knows there is only one person to look at....and wonders what her sister has done now. 

This was an excellent read, and even though I thought I knew who was responsible for all the bad that had happened, I didn't guess it, which I love! The characters were so well written, and the family dynamic with Frankie, her son, her parents, her sister and her sister's boyfriend/fianc√© were really well done too. 

If you are looking for an easy read that will keep you turning pages to find out what really happened, this is definitely one to pick up. 



Meet the Author:



Heather is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley’s English literature program and has worked as a newspaper reporter, editor and contributor to mystery and television blogs. Currently, she’s employed in public affairs for a major health care organization where she writes human interest stories. She lives with her family in Santa Rosa, California, and is at work on her second novel.

















No comments:

Post a Comment